top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMati Grace

Hey There

Updated: Jan 23, 2019

My names Mati Grace and I'm from Chicago, Illinois. I like to think that I have been (some what artistic) since the beginning. I always enjoyed creating, whether that be hand made puppets to dioramas for fun. At 14 I attended The Chicago Academy for the Arts, specifically their media arts program, and took an immediate liking to the post-production side of film and film analysis. Below is a short film entitled Filler I edited and co-directed with one of my class mates Jackie Tang. While although my background has been in film I do enjoy all art mediums, such as, visual arts and music.


Filler


What has always influenced my art has been my family and music. My sister has been a main subject in most of my pieces (including the one attached at the bottom) and has always pushed me to become a better artist. Music has also helped guide me in my editing process.


Tobi and Mati


I always approach art in the most enjoyable manner. I believe art in its purest form is a way to express yourself in a free form and comfortable way. I haven't always been the best at articulating my emotions but that has changed through art. I feel like my ideology on art can best be seen in my experimental music video to New Flesh, I entitled Tracks, my dog collage entitled Rexs (since his name is Rex and there are many of him), and an untitled portrait of my friend, Ethan Soppart.



Tracks

Rexs

Untitled


As I approach my future projects I hope to enjoy them and learn from them as I have from all my other pieces. As I said above I believe art should be a safe haven for all types of emotional expression and I'm excited to continue creating.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page